And I Bring you Fire… and F-15’s

Over the weekend we learned from one Mr. Joe Biden that an AK-47 is not able to protect us from a tyrannical government. According to him, there is just no way a rifle could possibly defeat an F-15 armed with Hellfire missiles which apparently he will be willing to use against the American people, all in the name of freedom I’m sure. Glossing over the fact that offering to blow us up with airborne ordinance is perhaps not as appealing as he might believe, I think I have to admit that he is correct in this assertion.

I mean really, the F-15 is a hell of a good weapon. As far as I know they are undefeated in air to air combat and so far we’ve not lost one a war. Okay sure, we haven’t had a war with a nation that has any kind of realistic air power in… well a really long time, but that doesn’t sully the reputation of one of the greatest fighter jets of all time. I’ve been to air shows and I can tell you, they are truly awe inspiring. I’ve never seen anything that fast, never heard anything that loud and as a plane nerd I can say that they are amazing machines piloted by very skilled people, and while not quite as attractive as an F-16 to me, they are not ugly by any means either. I’d hate to be on the receiving end of one, and I have very little doubt that I am ill equipped to bring one down. I don’t want to either, and as of yet they don’t seem to want to kill me, which I appreciate.

But old Joe is right, if they wanted to there would be very little I could do to stop them. I have some rifles, but I don’t think any of them would qualify as anti-aircraft weapons. I wouldn’t even trust them to stop a Cessna, much less the foremost fighting aircraft on Earth (F-35’s don’t count yet, they haven’t been in any fights that I can think of). Hellfire missiles are a pretty scary thing too, I’m not certain that they are carried by F-15’s, but I don’t really know. I do know what they are though, and boy I’d hate to have one aimed at me or mine. So I guess I’ll concede the point, I am not ready to fight a tyrannical government that is willing to send F-15’s against me. I simply have no weapon to hurt them

What I’d like to know then, is what can hurt them and where can I get one? If Joe is so sure that the American people are not prepared to fight a tyrannical government, that’s a big problem that I think should be solved. I know in his head stating that we don’t stand a chance against people like him should make us want to give up and surrender to whatever authoritarian plans he has, but believe it or not it doesn’t. It actually makes most Americans want to be more prepared. I have heard from a lot of people that because we don’t have fighter jets we don’t stand a chance and I agree, so I’ll take one. Maybe an Abrams or two as well while we are at it, I’ve heard those are pretty effective and we also don’t stand a chance against them with our AR’s and AK’s as I’ve been told.

I’m also pretty sure a bunch of farmers and colonists didn’t stand a chance against the most powerful military in the world a couple years back, nobody could just throw off the power of the British Empire, but unless I’m mistaken those guys did stand a chance. Last I checked I don’t give any loyalty to any kings or queens and I don’t drink tea.

Leave a comment